English in the Toilet

   (Image from my archive)

I stopped by this shopping mall to do my grocery shopping after a walk. It’s not my first time at the mall, but each time I use its toilet, I can’t help not reading this sticker. The message is “nosy” — why does it bother about whether I have brought along all my belongings or not? What it is trying to do is to serve as a gentle reminder to users so that they do not leave their belongings behind. In case you think this is Singlish, it is not.  I have never read reminders in English like this all these years of living in Singapore.

 

Leave a Reply

